Fat Chance.

In my never ending quest to figure out what the hell my problem with eating is… I found the book Fat Chance on the library shelves last week. This was a week or so after watching a movie called Hungry for Change (available on Netflix and highly recommended as well).

ImageHere’s the deal: Much as I love the four hour guy and all his craziness, I cannot quit eating all carbohydrates and start eating all protein. It makes me sick. And if it makes me sick, I refuse to believe that this is what my body wants. And as my stepmother says, a life without bread is not a life worth living. I agree. I would also say that neither is a life without apples. On the other hand, a live without white-flour bread is just fine fine fine. And apples.

Here’s what I’ve figured out: If I quit eating sugar–yes, all sugar and all white processed things– except for one teaspoon in the morning in my coffee (one cup only, down from three with a tablespoon each in them)– I stop craving sugar and white processed things. I also stop eating lots of food in general. And wanting lots of food. I started doing this a week before I found this book (after watching the movie) and lo and behold, three days later, went to a party and did not even want to eat cookies. You would have to know more about my relationship with cookies to get how unbelievably crazy this is. Let’s just say that last Thursday after my sugar fast was kind of kerfuffled up by Christmas (though not nearly as bad as it would have been), I ate five of my aunt’s gingersnaps in an hour. Five may not sound like a lot, but frankly, I’d already eaten most of the bag and these were the last five, so I couldn’t technically eat more. I would have. The next day I went back on the sugar fast again and the cravings have gone away again. (Much much easier the second time.)

That’s what this book is about. How sugar is as addictive as alcohol. How badly it messes with your hormones and insulin and leptin responses that frankly, you’re so screwed there’s no way out by trying real hard. How MSG actually is what they inject mice with to make them eat until they are obese so they can test stuff about obesity. Because otherwise mice won’t eat themselves fat. Seems cruel–food manufacturers are doing it to us. And hiding it–guess how many different names MSG is hidden under. Just Google it. It’s crazy. Side story: A family friend took my daughter to the store today and Michelle bought chips and dip to take to a bible study. The dip actually has Monosodium glutamate on the label. I said: “This is exactly why you can’t stop eating this crap.” Michelle said: “Heather called it crack.” (Closer to the truth than imaginable.) Helluva Good, I think not.

Anyway, read the book. Get off the sugar and white processed things for three days. See what happens. And read the book. You want to know this stuff. I have to admit too: I read Gary Taubes book Good Calories, Bad Calories and his follow up to that, and he says a lot of the same thing. I wasn’t ready to do it then. I wanted it to be about something else. It’s not.

I will tell you about the green smoothie adventure soon. I know you can’t wait for this one.

Posted on December 30, 2012, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. christina_92@yahoo.com

    The south beach diet is very good at explaining all this. I’ve tried it once and it’s very hard. I have kids and that’s the only reason we have chips and snacks in this house. If it wasn’t here maybe I could do it. After reading the book I am now very conscience of everything I eat so it has made me aware. I also cut out sodas and use Splenda no sugar. Anyway I wish you luck. Please keep us posted. I might give my diet another go,

  2. I guess I would have to say that as far as kids go… I feel like until they’re buying the food and paying the mortgage, they don’t really get to control the food supply in any way. Within reason. Besides, given the toxic American food environment outside their house, how much more important that I create a healthy food environment for my kids to live in? I actually changed this when they were late grade school to early teens– mostly by reading out loud to them parts of Michael Pollan’s book, In Defense of Food. My 13 year old son (at the time) actually took up the challenge of trying to pronounce ingredients on the labels in the store, and then would just go, Oh, Crap, and put the package down. At some point, you can just say, no way, man. I made a mistake buying that junk and I’m repenting in sackcloth and ashes. You’ll get over it.

    I’m down about 7 pounds (over Christmas) and somewhat stagnant now– but happy, though. Way more energy, no kind of food cravings. Nice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

